Please be advised that many venues have COVID-19 safety measures in place. You may be asked to wear face masks, use hand sanitiser or maintain social distance, please respect these requests. Please note that venues may be subject to temporary closure at short notice. Where possible we advise that you check with venues before visiting, and please follow the guidance of staff and volunteers on site.

Back to List

Out of the Blue Drill Hall

25 September 2021 (10:00-17:00)


Out of the Blue Arts and Education Trust’s mission is to provide affordable and appropriate spaces, resources, projects and opportunities for the residents of Edinburgh to be creative in multiple locations. Since 2004 Out of the Blue’s headquarters has been the Out of the Blue Drill Hall, a building of considerable historical and cultural significance to the Leith community.

The Drill Hall was built in 1901 for the Royal Scots Regiment, designed by the renowned architect Sir Rowand Anderson, who also designed the National Portrait Gallery on Queen Street and the McEwan Hall at Edinburgh University. Following Out of the Blue’s 2015 ‘Gretna 100’ project, which marked the centenary of the Gretna rail tragedy, and the impact it had on the Leith community, the Out of the Blue Drill Hall was regraded from ‘B’ to ‘A’ listed Careful, sustainable restoration and regeneration has transformed this former military building into a participatory and inclusive arts and cultural centre, with artists’ studios, rehearsal and performance areas, exhibition spaces and a well-reviewed café. The Out of the Blue Drill Hall is a vibrant, fun, and inclusive place, where people can experience all kinds of innovative contemporary arts, enjoy the creative atmosphere, meet, discuss, eat, relax, learn.

We will be running tours of the Out of the Blue Drill Hall and the monthly Out of the Blue Flea Market will be open in the Main Hall from 10am-3pm.

Digital Resources

Drill Hall Virtual Tour

Find out more about us by joining Rob Hoon, our manager, on virtual guided tour of our unique building.

Go on a virtual guided tour!

Key Information

Architect: J A Williamson

Building Date: 1890-1

  • 30-36 Dalmeny Street
  • Edinburgh
  • EH6 8RG