Ukrainian POW Chapel, Hallmuir
Dumfries and Galloway
Built in 1942, the Ukrainian POW chapel is a single storey, pitched roof, prefabricated hut. The interior is adapted from barracks to a place of Eastern rite worship with a simple screen (Iconostas) enclosing the altar and tabernacle of a Ukrainian type cathedral. The screen has a round-arched opening at centre with doors through to High Altar; square-headed openings to sides and timber pews, altars, lectern and other furnishings, and a ceiling painted blue with gold stars.
It is located off a minor road 1& a half miles south of Lockerbie with most of the original camp reclaimed by forests with several remaining buildings rented to other users. There is designated ample parking and a second barrack being upgraded to provide facilities to visitors (toilet, displays, shelter and refreshments)
For Doors Open Days 2023 there will be staff providing guided tours, ready to answer any questions you may have. Visitors can also view a projected presentation, view the displays, and see Ukrainian artefacts.
Booking not required.
Where to find us
- 5 Hallmuir Camp
- Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
- DG11 1BN
Programmes this building took part in: