15 September 2019 (10:00-12:30 for worship (all welcome), 12:30-17:00 for general visits)
The site and building of what is now Neilston Parish Church has been a local focal point for celebrating key life events (baptisms, marriages and funerals) and weekly Christian worship in the village of Neilston for hundreds of years.
There has been a Christian presence in Neilston since medieval times. It is believed Monks travelled firstly from Glasgow and then after 1163AD from Paisley Abbey over the Fereneze Braes via the ‘Monks Trail’ to conduct worship. At the Reformation, the Church passed to the reformed Church of Scotland. The building is an excellent example of 18th century ecclesiastical architecture.
Outside the Church is the burial ground, now closed, but served the parish for generations. The oldest marked stone is dated 1703.
At the gates are the ‘roundhouses’, the circular one (left of the gate) was the original Session House which was used by the Church Elders to collect money for the Poor Fund.
We are fortunate to have a good quality Church organ and benefit from organ recitals by visiting organists.
The current congregation, as well as being custodians of a well-loved local building with a rich history, continue to serve God and are a visible Christian presence in the community. The Church continues to be used for weekly Sunday worship and there are a number of groups and organisations for a range of age groups and interests connected to the Church which meet at other times.
Building Date: Parts of building date from medieval times, but current building configuration dates from 18th century
Organ recitals, display of church/groups/organisations activities, written guide to history of church.
Light lunch (12.30-14.00) & refreshments (14.00-16.45).
On-street parking available, no restrictions.