15 September 2018 (Sat-Sun 10am-4pm)
16 September 2018 (Tours: 11am & 2pm; 60 minutes)
Visit the Category B listed Burgh Halls of the historic Burgh of Maryhill. View the iconic stained glass windows designed by Stephen Adam, learn about the unique heritage of the area’s industrial and social past, and find out who was Mary Hill.
The stunning stained glass windows portray the variety of trades in Maryhill and offer a glimpse into the past of those who lived and worked in the area in the time of renowned maker and designer Stephen Adam. Maryhill, once an expanse of fields in the Gairbraid Estate quickly grew into a thriving industrial area where families flocked to live and work upon the expansion of the Forth and Clyde Canal. The Burgh Halls built in 1878 became a social and civic hub of the community, with a bath house, fire station and police station located next door.
Parking: Free parking situated in all roads surrounding. 6 disabled spaces at front doors
Accessibility: Flat access to front doors. Accessible lift to all floors, accessible toilets on all floors (two on ground floor)
Architect: Duncan McNaughton; JM Architects
Building Date: 1878; 2010
Doors Open Day 2018:
Join a tour of the Halls to learn the story of its refurbishment, a story of progression into the 21st Century and celebration of a long standing heritage and find out who was Mary Hill?
Tours: 11am & 2pm; 60 minutes
Meeting point: Reception
Stained glass' arts and crafts activities will be available