Search
Search
Back to List

Larbert Old Parish Churchyard

Door open days

Falkirk

Stainton Column

Adjacent to the parish church is a burial ground whose magnificent monuments neatly illustrate the advent of the Industrial Revolution in Scotland. They are dominated by those relating to the Carron Ironworks, which was established in 1759. The large edifices to its managers range from an Italianate tomb, to a huge urned column and a mock Roman temple. Cast iron features strongly throughout the graveyard with elaborate railings and obelisks. 

The Carron Enclosure contains beautiful examples of public art, including two tombs designed by John Hutchison of Edinburgh, one of the most famous sculptors of the late 19th century.

In its own separate enclosure stood the earliest cast iron funerary obelisk anywhere in the world. It commemorates James Bruce, discoverer of the source of the Nile and grandson of Reverend Robert Bruce of Kinnaird referred to in this brochure under Larbert Church. 

“James Bruce Esq of Kinnaird,/Who died on the 27th of April 1794,/

In the 64th year of his age/His life was spent performing/usefull, and

Splendid actions/He explored many distant regions. / He discovered the fountains of the Nile./He traversed the deserts of Nubia.”

 The monument was so famous that Roberts Burns paid a visit to it.

Guided tours will be conducted on the hour during the Saturday of the opening of Larbert Parish Church. 

The tours will take in many fascinating aspects of local as well as national history, and of art. The latter includes some idiosyncratic poetry set in stone, as well as statues by leading sculptors.

Facilities

Key Information

Architect: Carron Co, John Hutchison, etc

Building Date: 1785 onwards

Where to find us

Address
  • Larbert Old Parish Churchyard, Denny Rd
  • Larbert
  • Falkirk
  • FK5 3AB