Fire Service Headquarters was opened on the 7th June 1900, serving as an operational station until 1986. It continues today as an administrative centre and home to the ?Museum of Fire?.
The museum holds ?James Braidwood?s High Street appliance? and the last remaining ?Halley? fire appliance in the world, which served in Leith.
The building also houses a mock- up of an Edinburgh close allowing visitors to experience conditions during the great fire of Edinburgh.