28 September 2019 (10.00-16.00)
29 September 2019 (13.00-16.00)
Amisfield Walled Garden dates from 1783. Designed by John Henderson for the 7th Earl of Wemyss, the garden once formed part of the policies of Amisfield House which was demolished in 1928. At 8 acres in size, it is one of the largest walled gardens in the country. Over the past 12 years the garden has been restored from a neglected state into a vibrant community garden.
A display of information about 18th Century plant hunters and examples of plants in the garden that have been sourced from around the world.
Informal guided tours are available on request. No booking required. Refreshments available.
Building Date: 1783
YOYP: Displays showing activities that have been undertaken by schoolchildren at the garden as part of the John Muir award.
ACTIVITIES: Guided tours, information leaflets/notes, children’s activities, visual displays, displays of heritage apples, apple tasting & juicing, stewards/volunteers at key points, refreshments for sale.