7 September 2019 (10 am till 5 pm)
8 September 2019 (10 am till 5 pm)
This very rare chapel (probably the only one in Scotland) was built by Ukrainian Prisoners of War at Hallmuir Camp, who in 1947 were sent from Italy to Scotland rather than being handed over to the Russians and a potentially terrifying future.
The basic building is a simple army hut clad with painted corrugated asbestos cement sheet but the chapel presents an authentic Ukrainian interior, complete with tinsel chandelier and is still in use by the Ukrainian community, who, since they were not able to return home after the war, stayed in Lockerbie and Lochmaben, found work in the area, married local girls and brought up their children to respect their traditions.
The building is Category B listed, and its unique value to Scottish and world history is increasingly recognised. Pay a visit and enjoy a warm welcome which includes tea and biscuits, conversation and stories.
Guides, Exhibition, Display and Music
Building Date: 1940s
Directions: From Lochmaben follow A709 towards Lockerbie and take the first right turn after the traffic lights on the river bridge. Bear left at the fork, continue to crossroads then turn right. Hallmuir Camp is almost immediately on your left. From Lockerbie town centre, go south to the Queen’s Roundabout and follow the signposts.
Ample parking and disabled parking area.