Dumfries and Galloway

The programme for Dumfries and Galloway has been coordinated this year by the Scottish Civic Trust.

Dumfries & Galloway

Dumfries Museum and Camera Obscura

9-10 September 2017

Dumfries Museum tells the story of the land and people of the region. Its collections include a Camera Obscura, located on the top floor of the old windmill tower, which gives a fascinating panoramic view of Dumfries and surrounding countryside. The Camera Obscura, installed in 1836, is on the top floor of the old windmill tower on Corbelly Hill, overlooking the town of Dumfries. From it you can see a fascinating panoramic view of the town and surrounding countryside. Camera Obscura presentations are weather dependent in order to preserve this delicate historic instrument. The Camera Obscura is accessed via a spiral staircase. The Camera Obscura and windmill tower are part of Dumfries Museum, a treasure house of history telling the story of the land and people of Dumfries and Galloway. Look out for fossil footprints left by prehistoric animals, the wildlife of the Solway, tools and weapons of our earliest people, stone carvings by Scotland’s first Christians and the everyday things of the Victorian farm, workshop and home.

Dumfries & Galloway

Mull of Galloway Lighthouse and Exhibition

9 September 2017

The Mull of Galloway Lighthouse Tours and Exhibition are managed and operated by South Rhins Community Development Trust. The Lighthouse is operational and is owned and operated by Northern Lighthouse Board. The Lighthouse is remotely monitored from 84 George Street, Edinburgh. Climb the 115 steps to the light room at the top of the Mull of Galloway Lighthouse at Scotland’s most Southerly Point. Take a look around the Lighthouse Exhibition and see the original diesel engines that powered the Foghorn, Fresnel lenses and many more artefacts on display. Watch the DVD’s showing how Lighthouse operation has changed since the Mull of Galloway lighthouse was built in 1830. The Mull of Galloway Lighthouse was established by engineer, Robert Stevenson and is a white round tower 26 metres high.

Search Filters

Area Coordinator