Mavisbank House
Midlothian
Construction on Mavisbank House began in 1723, by Sir John Clerk of Penicuik and the architect William Adam. Just over 50 years ago, a major fire left the building in ruins and finally efforts to restore the house are now underway.
We will discuss aspects of the long and fascinating history of Mavisbank House, its design and influences, the more recent chequered past and its hope for the future.
For Doors Open Days there will be 2 talks - 10 am and 11.30 am. There will be speakers from Historic Environment Scotland, Mavisbank Trust, the Landmark Trust and LDN Architects. Attendees should meet at the front of the house. These talks are now fully booked.
Facilities
Additional Access Information
Access is via a narrow riverside path with steep sides. There are no facilities at the venue. Sturdy walking shoes are required. Bring your own water etc. Parking extremely limited, so please car share or use public transport where possible.
Gallery
Key Information
Where to find us
Address
- Mavisbank House and Grounds
- between Loanhead, Lasswade and Polton
- EH18 1HY (nearest postcode available)