St John the Evangelist Church, Greenock
This Episcopal Church is in lovely decorative order and is an example of fine architecture of the Victorian period. Unusual features include fine stained glass windows, beautiful high alter and reredos. The unique Rood/Choir screen features numerous wooden carvings or animals including birds, lizards, monkeys, rabbits and dogs.
The present building was designed by Paley and Austin of Lancaster and consecrated in 1878 replacing an earlier church dating from 1824. It was built in the early English style of freestone from Inverkip quarries. The font, which was gifted by Lady Emma Shaw Stewart in 1845 for the previous building, was copied from a 15th century original.
Church members will be on hand to provide more information - Sunday Service is at 11am and all are welcome.
Booking not required.
Where to find us
- Union Street
- PA16 8JJ
Programmes this building took part in: