University of Edinburgh: King's Buildings Campus
Since its establishment in 1920, the King’s Buildings campus, housing most of the University’s College of Science and Engineering, has experienced vast transformation, evolving to meet research and teaching requirements throughout the past century.
Find examples of architectural developments across the site and discover more through guided tours and information panels. Additionally, there is a variety of interactive activities through which the whole family can explore cutting-edge scientific research into natural history, acoustics, permaculture gardening, advanced transportation, higher dimensions, and much more.
Explore our outdoor campus history exhibition, which uses unique aerial images to show the evolution of the campus over a century.
Hour-long walking tours of campus history and architecture leave at 10.30am, 12 noon and 2pm from outside the Nucleus Building.
King's Buildings Virtual Tour
Discover the main science and engineering campus of The University of Edinburgh without leaving your home through our brand new virtual tour!Go on a virtual guided tour!
Main pedestrian entrance: corner of West Mains Road/Mayfield Road EH9 3JF
Vehicle access: Gate 1 (opposite the Harley Davidson garage)
For full details of access and activities, collect a Visitors’ Map from our purple-shirted assistants at our main pedestrian entrance at the junction of West Mains and Mayfield Roads.
Where to find us
- The College of Science & Engineering
- West Mains Road
- EH9 3JF
Programmes this building took part in: