Stewart's Melville College
The Old College opened in 1855 as Daniel Stewart’s Hospital for 50 destitute boys. In 1870 the Edinburgh Merchant Company turned the Hospital into a fee-paying day school and changed the name to Daniel Stewart’s College remodelling the building into a state-of-the-art teaching institution.
The old open courtyard at the north side of the building was eventually roofed over and this reopened in 2007 following a multi-million pound rebuild to create a Performing Arts Centre. There are other fine rooms such as the library, formerly the Chapel and the Principal’s Study.
The Old College and Queensferry Road campus remains one of the finest education estates in Edinburgh, ably demonstrating the transition in the design of school buildings to accommodate prevailing educational requirements.
Today Stewart’s Melville College is the home to a unique archive collection which illuminates the development of education from the early 19th Century to the present day. Visitors will be given access not only to the Old College buildings but also an exhibition of selected archive material.
Guided tours of the old school buildings and a visit to a temporary exhibition of archive material. Tea and coffee will also be provided.
Please book a place via this link: https://www.trybooking.co.uk/COYW
Stewart's Melville College 360 degree tour
Wander through the school in this interactive 360 degree tour!Take a 360-degree virtual tour!
Guided tour of the old school and grounds will be scheduled for every hour. Online booking required via this link: https://www.trybooking.co.uk/COYW
Where to find us
- Queensferry Road
- EH4 3EZ
Programmes this building took part in: