Out of the Blue Drill Hall
Out of the Blue Arts and Education Trust’s mission is to provide affordable and appropriate spaces, resources, projects and opportunities for the residents of Edinburgh to be creative in multiple locations.
Since 2004 Out of the Blue’s headquarters has been the Out of the Blue Drill Hall, a building of considerable historical and cultural significance to the Leith community. The Drill Hall was built in 1901 for the Royal Scots Regiment, designed by the renowned architect Sir Rowand Anderson, who also designed the National Portrait Gallery on Queen Street and the McEwan Hall at Edinburgh University. Following Out of the Blue’s 2015 ‘Gretna 100’ project, which marked the centenary of the Gretna rail tragedy, and the impact it had on the Leith community, the Out of the Blue Drill Hall was regraded from ‘B’ to ‘A’ listed.
Careful, sustainable restoration and regeneration has transformed this former military building into a participatory and inclusive arts and cultural centre, with artists’ studios, rehearsal and performance areas, exhibition spaces and a well-reviewed café. The Out of the Blue Drill Hall is a vibrant, fun, and inclusive place, where people can experience all kinds of innovative contemporary arts, enjoy the creative atmosphere, meet, discuss, eat, relax, learn.
On Saturday 23rd September, we will be running hourly tours of the Out of the Blue Drill Hall from 11am until the last tour at 2pm. Each tour will last around 45 minutes.
Please arrive at least 15 minutes before your preferred tour slot to sign up for a place. There will be sign up sheets available for each tour from 10am.
We will be running hourly tours from 11am - 2pm. Sign-up sheets will be available for each tour from 10am.
Where to find us
- 36 Dalmeny Street
- EH6 8RG
Programmes this building took part in: