St Mary's Parish Church, Haddington
St Mary’s - one of the three great Collegiate churches of the Lothians, and the longest parish church in Scotland, C14, but left totally roofless after the 18 month Siege in Haddington in 1549 when Scots with French allies in /around church engulfed the English in the town, until the latter were hit by plague and defeated. Eleven years afterwards, only the nave could be repaired; it was separated by a huge wall from the ruins, which remained exposed to wind and rain for over 400 years – until the C20. In the 1960s, the incredible Restoration of the ruins commenced, and the church was complete once more by 1973 with unique ‘fibreglass’ vaulting, recycled stone from a large railway station, a window from Devon, and 8 bells from an Aberdeenshire chapel. This year is the 50th Anniversary of the Restoration.
- There is a historical trail around the church and there will be additional guides.
- Teas and home baking
- Pop-up exhibitions on the 50th Anniversary Restoration.
Also visit two local gardens open. Smaller St Mary’s Pleasance Garden is adjacent to the church.
And the 8 acre Amisfield Walled Garden - a pleasant 1.5miles away. Walk over the river by the nearby old Nungate Bridge, continue straight ahead, then via Haddington Golf Course and a track to the garden. Return by the same route or over the Abbey Bridge (long gone abbey of St Mary’s nearby) and by the riverside path on the opposite bank (can be muddy).
The congregation of St Mary's Parish Church have produced a tour for Doors Open Days 2021.Go on a virtual guided tour!
Booking may be required if there is a larger group.
Where to find us
- St Mary’s Parish Church
- EH41 4BZ
Programmes this building took part in: