The McManus - Collections Unit Tour
Opened in 1911 as the Central Reading Rooms. The library was paid for and opened by Andrew Carnegie on 12thSeptember, It was Dundee's fifth Carnegie Library. Designed by James Thomson, the City Engineer, in the Edwardian Baroque style, it replaced a group of earlier buildings on the site, including an Auction Room and a Monumental Sculptor's yard.
As well as books, newspapers and magazines, the Library also housed two Sculpture Courts on the upper floor with casts of Greek and Roman statues. The building has been a dedicated natural history museum but is now the permanent home of the City’s Archaeology, History, Natural Sciences and World Cultures collections. Welcome to The Collections Unit.
For Doors Open Days join us on behind the scenes guided tours: join our curators for a guided tour of the stores and delve into the City's fascinating collections of Archaeology, History, Natural Sciences and World Cultures.
Guided tours at 11am and 1pm.
Where to find us
- The Collections Unit
- Barrack Street
- DD1 1PG
Programmes this building took part in: