Maryfield Tram Depot - Dundee Museum of Transport
The former Maryfield Tram Depot was acquired by Dundee Museum of Transport in 2015 as the new permanent site for the museum and its collection. Built in 1901 and extended in 1913 and 1920, Maryfield Depot is B Listed and the last surviving building in Dundee associated with the heyday of the city’s once extensive tram network. It is a striking brick building 120 metres long, designed to hold up to 70 trams. After the withdrawal of trams in 1956, it was used as a bus depot and maintenance workshop until the 1970s. The building retains a number of original features including tram lines in the forecourt and within the building, a two-storey wooden office structure, and brickwork features in keeping with its 1901 construction.
Dundee Museum of Transport is offering guided tours of the former Maryfield Tram Depot to allow members of the public to see inside this unique and impressive building, and view the progress in its development into the museum’s new home. Participants will also find out more about the Depot’s important place in Dundee’s transport history, and hear about the latest plans for the completed museum. Please note that as a former industrial building undergoing restoration, the site has uneven surfaces and potential trip hazards.
Guided tours at 11.00 am, 1.00 pm and 3.00 pm both days.
Dundee Museum of Transport 360 degree tour
Explore the Dundee Museum of Transport's incredible collection through this 360 degree virtual tour!Take a 360-degree virtual tour!
Pre-booking is essential and each tour will be limited to 10 participants. To book, telephone Dundee Museum of Transport on 01382 455196.
Where to find us
- Maryfield Tram Depot
- 25 Forfar Road
- DD4 7EY
Programmes this building took part in: