Ellisland Museum and Farm
Dumfries and Galloway
Ellisland farm was built by Robert Burns in 1788 as the family home for his wife Jean Armour and their young children. Burns lived here until 1791 and during this time he wrote around 25% of his work including some of his most famous songs and poems such as Auld Lang Syne and Tam O’ Shanter. At Ellisland you can immerse yourself in the nature and landscapes that inspired Burns and view our collection of artefacts and original manuscript.
Visitors will be able to enjoy refreshments in the Barn constructed by the Poet in between exploring the site and being lead on a guided tour of the cottage. This will include information about the History of the site from Burns’ time here until the present day as well as information on aspects of the collection and buildings.
Guided tours on the hour, every hour from 11am - 3pm.
Booking not required.
Where to find us
- Holywood Road
- DG2 0RP
Programmes this building took part in: