Tullibody Heritage Centre
Tullibody Heritage Centre is run by Tullibody History Group and tells the fascinating story of the village and neighbouring Cambus.
Tullibody first developed near the medieval church, which was founded in 1149. The Abercromby family built Tullibody House near the River Forth and in 1760 George Abercromby turned the old church into the family mausoleum. The Abercrombys also moved the village further south and in the 19th century a tannery was built there. Tullibody expanded in the 1950s, when new housing was built for a large influx of miners from Lanarkshire, who came to work in the short-lived Glenochil Colliery. Most of the old village was demolished and rebuilt.
Displays in the Heritage Centre include a model of old Tullibody; a fully furnished doll's house modelled on Tullibody House; an illustrated genealogy of the remarkable Abercromby family; a replica Victorian schoolroom and a 1940s-style kitchen; as well as details about significant local people, such as William Burns Paterson, who founded what is now Alabama State University, and the baker, botanist and geologist Robert Dick (1811-1866), to whom a fine memorial has been erected in Tullibody.
There will be a special display about Tullibody Galas through the years.
Where to find us
- Tullibody Heritage Centre
- Abercromby Place
- FK10 2RS
Programmes this building took part in: