Dollar Historic Walks
The town of Dollar has a long and fascinating history. It was established on the lower slopes of Dollar Glen and near the burn. Its medieval church was replaced by another in 1775, the ruin of which remains in the old kirkyard, where there are also many interesting gravestones. The tiny Session House, which has also survived, was the place where in 1815 the momentous decision was taken to build a great academy to educate all the boys and girls in Dollar, as well as pupils from outside Dollar, using a large bequest left by Captain John McNabb, a local boy who had made his fortune at sea. The foundation of what became Dollar Academy led the village to grow and develop in a different way from the other towns along the foot of the Ochil Hills.
The walk on Saturday 23rd will look at many places of interest in the town.
The walk on Sunday 24th will focus on the sites of Dollar Railway Station and Dollar Mine, which was sunk to the east of the town by Alloa Coal Company at the end of 1942, opened in 1943 and and closed in 1973. An excellent combined working model of both sites can be seen in Dollar Museum.
The walks will begin outside Dollar Museum and on Saturday it will be possible to visit the Museum before the walk.
There is no need to book and the walks are of a low to moderate difficulty.
Where to find us
- Dollar Museum
- Castle Campbell Hall
- 1 High Street, Dollar
- FK14 7AY
Programmes this building took part in: