One of the largest and finest towers of its type in Scotland, it was home to the distinguished Erskine family, Earls of Mar, from the later 14th century until 1800. By 1693 a mansion, kitchen tower, brew house and other buildings had been added. In 1702 John, 6th Earl of Mar, began to convert the tower into an elegant modern house and created an ambitious and extensive planned landscape around his home.
In 1800 the mansion was destroyed by fire, but the tower survived. By the 1980s it was derelict. Alloa Tower Building Preservation Trust restored it to its likely appearance in 1712. The tower was opened formally by Queen Elizabeth II in 1997. A fine collection of Erskine family portraits from the Mar & Kellie collection is displayed, along with many items of family silver, while a DVD tells the story of the tower.
Visitors can tour this National Trust for Scotland property for free.
Where to find us
- Alloa Park
- FK10 1PP
Programmes this building took part in: