Welcome to Doors Open Days in Clackmannanshire, which is organised, coordinated and promoted by Clackmannanshire Heritage Trust (SC112838).

This year there will be guided tours of the impressive Alloa, Clackmannan and Sauchie Towers, as well as Menstrie Castle. Five churches in the county, three in Alloa, one in Clackmannan and, new this year, Menstrie Parish Church, will be opening their doors to visitors to enable them to discover their stories and splendid interiors.

Popular destinations Alloa Fire Station, Clackmannanshire Council Archives, The Coach House Theatre in Alloa, Alva Ice House, Alva Old Kirkyard and the Johnstone Mausoleum, Dollar Museum and Tullibody Heritage Centre will also welcome people in again.

Menstrie and Tullibody Community Gardens will be taking part and encouraging people to grow their own food, eat more healthily and enjoy the benefits to wellbeing of spending more time outdoors.

Finally, there will be three interesting historic walks - Alloa Historical Estate Walk and, in Dollar, a tour of many historical places in the town and another walk focussing on the stories of Dollar Mine and Railway Station.

Clackmannanshire Heritage Trust is dedicated to protecting, preserving, conserving and raising awareness of the rich heritage of the county. We would like to thank everyone who has helped to make Doors Open Days 2023 possible and are very grateful for their continuing enthusiasm and support.

This year our printed programme has been published with the generous support of Ochil View Housing Association Ltd SC033130. 

Please note that in some buildings only the ground floor is accessible to people with mobility difficulties. Please refer to the key next to each entry. Visitors enter the buildings at their own risk. Neither Clackmannanshire Heritage Trust nor any participating building owners are responsible for any accidents or damage incurred.

Regional Coordinator

Search Filters
In Person


Alloa Historical Estate Walk

Alloa Tower was at the core of an important estate established in c1363, when the Erskine family was granted the land by David II. By the late 17th century there were other buildings around the tower and Alloa had developed nearby. John, 6th Earl of Mar (1675-1732) improved the estate and created an impressive designed landscape and garden. He led the 1715 Jacobite Uprising, however, was attainted for High Treason, forfeited his lands and titles and spent the rest of his life in exile abroad. His family bought back the Alloa estate in 1724 and continued with the industrial developments begun by the 6th Earl. In 1800 a fire destroyed all of the buildings apart from the tower. The Erskine family lived elsewhere until Alloa House was completed nearby in 1838. The Earl of Kellie inherited the estate in 1866 and made many improvements. Alloa House was demolished in the late 1950s. This walk will explore the story of this remarkable historical estate, looking at the features and buildings which have survived in the landscape of today.