Kirkcaldy Town House has a Scandinavian theme, and when construction started in 1937, it was to a design by architects David Carr and William Howard of Edinburgh. The building work was put on hold when the Second World War broke out, and did not resume until 1950 and was finally completed in 1956. Kirkcaldy Townhouse serves as Fife Council's Regional Office and is protected as a Category B listed building.
Both the internal and external design of the Town House show its unique features contributed from many architects, artists, designers and skilled craftsmen of the time to produce a building showing many influences.
Alongside the Townhouse there are six provost's lamps from the former Royal Burghs within Kirkcaldy district. These lamps are from Kirkcaldy, Kinghorn, Burntisland, Leven, Buckhaven and Methil. The lamps formerly stood outside the houses of senior councillors before they were all brought to Townhouse when the Royal Burghs were abolished in 1975.
NO BOOKING REQUIRED
Stewards will be present at the venue.
Where to find us
- Kirkcaldy TownHouse
- 2 Wemyssfield
- KY1 1XW
Programmes this building took part in: