Wellwood Burns Centre and Museum
Housed in a late 19th Century Townhouse within a Conservation Area, Wellwood is now a significant building as an example of Scottish urban architecture. However, its greater significance both nationally and internationally is because of its contents. For Wellwood is the home of The Irvine Burns Club, founded in 1826, and its displays of Burns artefacts, manuscripts, and rare books, including some First Editions, are simply unique as is the Collection of c. 350 Acceptance Letters from distinguished nominees of Honorary Membership from 1828 until today, The Wellwood Collection is part of the National Burns Collection and is a magnet globally for Burnsians,
The Centre will be manned on both days by experienced and knowledgeable guides who will conduct tours for individual visitors and groups on demand. The popular “Wellwood Experience” will include an 18 minutes A/V Presentation on “Burns in Irvine” focussing on the period during which he lived in the Royal Burgh in 1781/82 and which changed his life for ever; quite simply, “The Apprentice Flax-Dresser” became “The Apprentice Poet”.
Guided tours on demand both days.
Booking not required.
Where to find us
- 28 Eglinton Street
- KA12 8AS
Programmes this building took part in: