The Argyll Papers
Argyll & Bute
The Argyll Papers are the family and estate archive of the earls and dukes of Argyll, dating from the 13thcentury. The archive records the lives and activities of the family and the administration of their extensive estates in Argyll, the islands and central Scotland, including the re-building of the Castle and the new town of Inveraray in the 18th century.
The archive is kept in the 18th century stable block or ‘court of offices’ at Cherry Park, a short walk from Inveraray Castle. Plans for Cherry Park were drawn up by John Adam for the 3rd Duke of Argyll in 1759. Work began the following year and the handsome square court was eventually completed by the 5th Duke in 1772.
For Doors Open Days there will be an exhibition of original and unique pieces from the archives for visitors to browse and a rolling PowerPoint explaining the history of the Collection. The archivists will be on hand to answer general questions about the collection. Please note that it will not be possible to accommodate individual research appointments on Doors Open Day.
Visitors are invited to pre-book for a tour of the archive store to see more of this unique historical collection and how it is preserved. From 15:00 we will celebrate Argyll’s living heritage by hosting Tunes in the Archives, a traditional Scottish music session. Bring a tune, a song or a story to share.
Guided tour of the archive stores at 10:30am and 12:30pm.
Tours must be pre-booked as numbers are limited. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org or phone 01499 302698 to book.
Where to find us
- The Argyll Papers
- Cherry Park
- PA33 8XE
Programmes this building took part in: