Argyll & Bute
Step back in time as you enter one of the last remaining smiddies, carefully preserved with original forge, giant bellows and anvil, cobbled floor, tools of the trade and beamed ceiling.
The Strachur Smiddy dates back to at least 1791 and was a working Smiddy until 1955. Following repair and restoration, it opened as a working Smiddy museum in 1997, with the forge lit for use each weekend by the local blacksmith who is happy to answer visitors’ questions about blacksmithing, ‘the king of the trades’.
Each weekend a local blacksmith demonstrates the ancient art, with visitors able to work the giant bellows and see how items such as pokers are made and watch three short films including one of a previous blacksmith shoeing horses. The pokers made by the blacksmith are on sale in the adjacent craft shop along with a wide range of local crafts: genuine horseshoes, pottery, handmade baskets, silhouette slates, range of cards, hand-turned wooden bowls, knitted toys, local honey & preserves, essential oil soaps plus much more.
Booking not required.
Where to find us
- The Smiddy
- The Clachan
- PA27 8DG
Programmes this building took part in: