St Ternan's Scottish Episcopal Church
St Ternan’s is the oldest church in the Diocese of Brechin. The centre section was built in 1829/31 replacing older buildings that were located in the grounds of Muchalls Castle. Later additions were made, including a gallery (since removed) and the lengthening of the nave to accommodate larger congregations. The last major change in 1865 came with the building of the chancel. At this time “The Episcopal Chapel at Muchalls” (note Muchalls Castle/estate not Muchalls village) as it had always been known adopted a new constitution and became St Ternan’s Scottish Episcopal Church. St Ternan’s is a lovely church, most of the original pews are still in place from the days it could seat 250 of a congregation. A delicate stained glass window can be appreciated in the East wall above the altar depicting Jesus as the Good Shepherd. The font has a unique history; found by Bishop Alexander Penrose Forbes (Diocese of Brechin 1847-1875) surviving as a trough on a farm adjacent to Inverbervie, it has skilful stone carvings around its circumference.
Sadly, the fishing villages of North Kincardineshire went into decline and their populations moved to urban areas to seek alternative forms of employment, resulting in a drop of congregational numbers. In 1885 St Ternan’s had a congregation of 200 people; by 1910 their number had decreased to 15 as the population of the fishing villages of Skateraw, Stranathro, Findon and Portlethen declined.
St Ternan’s is located on the Causey Mounth Road to the West of the A92. Turn off the A92 opposite Muchalls village on the road signposted to Cookney. The church is approx. 500 yards along this road.
Sunday Service 10.30am, all welcome.
Where to find us
- St Ternan's Scottish Episcopal Church
- AB39 3PP
Programmes this building took part in: