Search
Search

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Glasgow

Glasgow's Doors Open Days 2020 takes place over the week of Monday 14th to sunday 20th September.

Don't forget to leave us feedback on your experiences of Doors Open Days by completing our visitor survey.  you could even win a prize!

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Pollokshields Heritage Bus Tour

During Doors Open Days, join Pollokshields Heritage for a guided bus tour of this magnificent Victorian garden suburb: see listed buildings, discover splendid villas, tenements and nature areas see various communities, and hear many stories.Dating from 1849, Pollokshields is a fine example of a Victorian Garden suburb. The tour includes the oldest secular building in Glasgow, a villa built by an American gun runner, Jimmy Logan's villa, an uber cool modernist villa, fine art nouveau tenements, Greek Thomson villa, a hidden gem of the Glasgow style. Various Churches, Mosques, the new Gurdwara, and Tramway's rich though tragic history.The suburb contains parks, green spaces, villas, tenements and church by some of Glasgow's well known architects including Alexandrer Greek Thomson, WJ Anderson, JC McKellar, William Hunter McNab, HE Clifford, Burnet Boston and Carruthers.The heritage of the Maxwell family is evident in gifted space for parks, bowling greens and allotments, with their varied landscapes and wildlife. The architectural styles and building materials used demonstrate the eclecticism and evolution of Victorian/Edwardian middle class taste. Within these buildings are superb interiors by talented craftsmen of sumptuous stained glass, ornamental plasterwork, cast iron and marble, wally tiles and elegant wood carvings to frame the equally interesting lives of the people who commissioned and lived in them, whose stories will be noted. You will hear about issues relating to new developments and technologies too. With its gridded streets lined with handsome tenements, terraces, shops and public buildings, East Pollokshields was developed as an upmarket tenement suburb.Maxwell Park station, 101 Fotheringay Road, G41 4EF�

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Caledonia Road Church

This is a striking �Greek� Thomson church which was burnt out in 1965.During Doors Open Days, explore 'freespace', activated by WAVE particle as a space for the local community and artists. Attend �The Happenstance� exhibition or simply come and have a look at this striking �Greek� Thomson church which was burnt out in 1965.To engage with the Biennale Architettura 2018 in Venice, and celebrate Scotland�s Year of Young People, The Happenstance, (www.ads.org.uk/scotlandvenice2018), curated by WAVEparticle, is an exploration of the Biennale theme of Freespace. We are exploring how public space, non-space, stalled space and civic space all have the potential to change and grow, depending on how we choose to occupy them. We cite various ideas that are home-grown and developed in Scotland, a country interested in grassroots, community-led processes that inform emerging places. We are demonstrating what can be built through mapping connections, bringing together needs, resources and ideas of Freespace in both Scotland and Venice. The Happenstance brings together a team of Artists and Architects who are experts in play, in exploring the spaces in-between. We encourage everyone into a vital relationship with the built environment, using play as an active agent within the process of rethinking and reclaiming their Freespace. There is a particular focus on young people, their capacities, their needs and their imagination, harnessed to empower this energy in all of us. In Venice this was presented as a Living Library Of Ideas focusing on the event nature of live situations � exploring how we can all intervene in our own lives and the circumstances that shape us. For Glasgow Doors Open, the core structure in Venice will be presented and activated with a series of screenings and documentation in the iconic Caledonia Road Church.�

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Clydeport Building

Seldom open to the public, this is Clydeport's superb A-listed head office. Originally the Clyde Trust Building, it contains many original features such as French walnut panelling and Stephen Adam stained glass.The Clydeport head office in Robertson Street, Glasgow is a fine example of the work of the architect Sir John James Burnet and includes a number of finely appointed rooms with original features including French walnut panelling, stained glass, mosaic flooring and gold leaf ornamentation. The original Clyde Trust Building, consisting of the main entrance and four upper floors, was completed in 1886. This was then extended between 1906 and 1908 to create the building as it appears today. The building is now A-listed and provides office premises for Peel Property, Peel Ports - Clydeport and other organisations.��

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Glasgow Art Club, The

Founded in 1867, Glasgow Art Club has occupied two handsome Georgian terrace houses in Bath Street since 1893. The jewel in its handsome Victorian interior is the gallery, largely designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh.Recent extensive refurbishment with substantial financial aid from Heritage Lottery Fund and Historic Scotland with generous contributions from private donors, has resulted in restoration of the Gallery to its original Victorian splendour.Much careful research went into establishing the original designs and colours used by Mackintosh for his frieze which has been painstakingly recreated. The fixtures and furnishings which he claimed as his work by publishing an illustration of them in June 1893 in the Bailie, a magazine of the day, have all been restored to their original state. The result is a breath-taking room which gives a vivid impression of the early stages of his developing creative genius.The original billiard room on the first floor has been converted into a light, airy space which is used for smaller exhibitions and for social events and gatherings. The remainder of the building has also been repaired and redecorated and much of the original furniture has been restored. The exterior of the building has been cleaned and the stonework restored.��

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Glasgow Evangelical Church

Glasgow Evangelical Church has a restored exterior and beautiful interior, entrance and sanctuary and is an A-listed building. It has original stained-glass and Grade 1 historic pipe organ as well as award-winning modern stained-glass windows made by members.The restoration work to the Building and Sanctuary was �funded by Grants from Heritage Lottery Fund, Historic Scotland and our own fundraising. We have also recently put in new Pew Cushions, some of which are donated by Members and Friends of the Church. Work was finally completed in December 2017.John Honeyman (1831-1914) was an Architect of high renown and from 1888 his partner was John Keppie and from 1889 he had Charles Rennie Mackintosh as an Assistant.The skyline is dominated with Statues of St. Matthew, St. Mark, St. Luke and St. John and at their feet lie, respectively, the heads of a man, a lion, a calf and an eagle. Above the doors are St. Peter and St. Paul.Within there is a magnificent Pipe Organ installed in 1887, so impressive that visitors from far afield come to see it. The Institute of Historic Pipe Organs has granted it a Grade 1 Certificate. The Organ is regularly maintained and is believed to be one of only a few of its kind in Scotland.Some Members of the Church learned the craft of Stained Glass Windows making and have created eight award winning windows installed from 1999 to 2001.We are proud of this place of Worship in what is the true centre of the City. It is perhaps fitting that the Church is �watched over" by John Knox, the father of the Scottish Reformation. As 2017 was the 500th anniversary of the Reformation some Members embarked on making a craft banner for the Church to commemorate Martin Luther.�

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Greyfriars Garden

Greyfriar's Garden, a tranquil and magical oasis in the Merchant City is a modern garden on a medieval site. Home to raised beds, greenhouses, a wildflower meadow and a picnic space. When you enter, it's like walking into another world.It is located in the Medieval City on a site adjacent to the former Franciscan Friary. As Franciscans were known as Greyfriars, we adopted the name as a link to Glasgow�s medieval past.When you step into this magical space you will enjoy seeing the variety of vegetables and flowers grown by the local gardeners and you can lose yourself in the wildflower meadow.Throughout the garden you will see haiku poems displayed on various media. The poems were written by the gardeners and children from St Stephen�s Primary School.Gardeners will be on hand to tell you about their own plot and about the garden. It�s amazing what can be grown in a metre square space. Our gardeners are from the Merchant City, Trongate and Ladywell areas. You�ll spot them as they�ll be wearing the green Greyfriars Garden aprons. Visitors last year were charmed and delighted by the garden and many left inspired. Sadly�2018 may be our last year as plans have been submitted to develop the site.�You can enter via Shuttle Street or via St Nicholas Street.�

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

House for an Art Lover

A stunning building completed in 1996 from original designs by Charles Rennie Mackintosh. Set in leafy Bellahouston Park, House for an Art Lover has been realised in materials, craftsmanship and dimensions as closely as possible to the original Mackintosh designs.In 1901 Charles Rennie Mackintosh, now Glasgow�s most famous architect, entered a German-based competition to design a �Grand Residence for an Art Lover�. The rules stated that �only genuinely original modern designs will be considered�. Mackintosh worked on the submission with his new wife, Margaret Macdonald. In the event, the Mackintosh entry was disqualified from the competition on the grounds of incomplete submission, but after three required interior perspectives were completed and submitted, the designs were awarded a purchase prize for �their pronounced personal quality, their novel and austere form and the uniform configuration of interior and exterior�.�Significantly, no first prize had been awarded.Creating the House, The Mackintosh competition entry, has been admired by academics and architects alike over the last century. But, it was in 1987 that Glasgow civil engineer Graham Roxburgh conceived and developed the idea of building the House for an Art Lover, from the competition drawings, on a site he had identified in Bellahouston Park.Graham had been responsible for the refurbishment of the nearby Craigie Hall which contains early Mackintosh interiors. His dream to build the House for an Art Lover became a reality in 1990 when the building exterior and much of the interior and craftwork were completed by his remarkable team of architects, designers, builders and craftsmen. However, recession in the early nineties forced the project to be temporarily halted. Interior work and landscaping were resumed in 1994, revived by collaboration between Glasgow City Council and the Glasgow School of Art.It is a fitting tribute that Mackintosh�s most impressive and respected building, the Glasgow School of Art, retains strong links with the House for an Art Lover.�

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Kelvinside Hillhead Parish Church

Built in 1876 as the subject of an architectural competition, the winning design was based on Sainte-Chapelle in Paris. 140 years later, the spectacular Category A listed building still fulfils its original purpose as a place of sanctuary and community. This glass-walled building stands as a link to its heritage and community.James Sellers original design was altered and adapted to suit a �more Scottish manner�, then in 1921 the interior was re-ordered when the 'Light' was introduced with the new War Memorial Chancel arrangement.The beautiful soaring windows will lift your eyes upwards to the groined and vaulted ceiling which has also been recently preserved as part of the 2014-15 re-roofing works. This building has stood as a place of worship for over 140 years and it still fulfills its original function as a place of sanctuary and community. It has stood the test of time, its narrow buttresses were driven down to the rock below the old mine workings of the area.The magnificent addition of the figured Stained Glass took place around 1900, the size of which are seldom seen within a Parish Church and eight of these large windows have been restored in recent years.Cottier, Burne-Jones, Shrigley-Hunt, Meikle and Maclellan have all contributed to the beauty of this building. The little windows around the entrance to the church were also restored as a gift to the current Congregation, who enjoy the art within and are keen to share with all who enter.The sumptuousness of these pre-raphaelite windows is always a delight especially with the sun shining through.The space is a friendly one and the recent building works have enabled the previously closed South Porch Door to be re-opened, such that you can now enter straight 'into the body of the kirk' if you wish, but essentially this extra door allows the Congregation greater flexibility in the use of the space upstairs, not just for worship, but for performance and exhibitions.All Buildings such as this must be sustainable going forward, the door opening is just the first step along the way. Listen out for ad-hoc performances & talks.�

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

King's Theatre, The

One of Scotland�s most historic and significant theatres, designed by prolific theatre architect Frank Matcham. With many original features intact, this Glasgow institution is still a busy working theatre receiving musicals, drama and dance, and is proud of its part in Glasgow�s pantomime tradition.The King's Theatre is one of Scotland's most historic and significant theatres. It opened in 1904 as one of the most brilliant designs of the prolific theatre architect Frank Matcham and has played host to top stars ever since.It is home to possibly the very best Christmas pantomime to be seen in the United Kingdom which over the years has featured the Scottish greats including Stanley Baxter, Jimmy Logan, Rikki Fulton, Elaine C. Smith and Gerard Kelly.The King's provides Glasgow's flourishing amateur groups with a high profile stage. It was the location for the opening ceremony of Glasgow's European City of Culture events in 1990. Above all, it continues to pack in appreciative audiences, performance after performance, year after year.

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Norwoodville- Madrasa Taleem Ul Islam

Norwoodville is an iconic twin-pedimented villa in Pollokshields, now renovated as a Mosque and Madrasa. It has unique �Thomsonesque� features such as an alcove decorated with an intricate mirror mosaic.Norwoodville is an iconic twin pedimented villa in Pollokshields, Europe's first planned green suburb. It was built circa 1878 as a residential dwelling and is described as a "Thomsonesque" Villa. In the 1920s, it was converted into a Synogogue and served the local Orthodox Jewish community of Pollokshields for over 60 years. In 1988, the then vacant building was acquired by Taleem ul Islam Trust for the growing Muslim community. After being extensively renovated in 2006, the building serves as a Mosque and Madrasa; a unique place of worship and study.���

Glasgow Doors Open Days Festival

Mitchell Library

The Mitchell Library, with its distinctive copper dome, is Glasgow�s largest public library and one of its most famous landmarks."The Mitchell Library, with its distinctive copper dome, is one of Glasgow�s most famous landmarks. The original library, opened in 1877 in Ingram Street in the city centre but by the mid-1880s the Library moved to Miller Street. However, soon problems with lack of space for both books and readers were encountered. The situation became exacerbated after the Library received a substantial bequest from the late Robert Jeffrey in 1902. In 1904, the Corporation decided to erect a new building and an architectural competition was held and plans by William B. Whitie were chosen. � The Library�s recurring problem with space meant that an extension was begun in 1939. Building work was discontinued during the WWII and this extension finally opened in 1963. In 1962, the St Andrew�s Halls was destroyed by fire, putting the adjacent Mitchell Library at considerable risk. After much debate it was agreed that the site could be used for a library extension and Edinburgh architects, Sir Frank Mears and Partners were appointed to prepare the plans. The new extension was begun in 1972 and opened in 1981. The original fa�ade of the St Andrews Halls, with its impressive statuary, became part of the new exterior. � In 2006 library material was made available for lending for the first time in the Library�s history. In 2007 redevelopment work took place to turn the old Mitchell Theatre foyer into an impressive Surf Area with public PCs, Leisure and Lifestyle for lending, and Caf�. In 2008, the Business and Media section opened on Level 1, with an emphasis on electronic information resources. � The library has continued to evolve and in 2016 developed the Let�s Talk area where library visitors can use the original study tables as well as learn about the wide and varied collections within the library.Mon-Sat 9am-8pm - Building can be visited at these times without booking�