19 September 2020
20 September 2020
Believed to have been built at the same time as Kinnaird Head Castle (c.1570), the purpose of the building cannot be agreed upon: some believe it was a chapel, others that it was a wine cellar while some say it was a general apartment. The Tower used to have 4 stories, of which 3 remain. Within the top chamber there still exists the unique collection of carved plaster bosses which hang from the ceiling.
Please enjoy this virtual opportunity to take a tour of the wine tower, part of Kinnaird Head and Lighthouse and hear about the history and folklore surrounding the tower.Go on a virtual guided tour!
Building Date: c.1570