19 September 2020
20 September 2020
In 1931, Father John McQuillan founded a Catholic Land Colony at Broadfield Farm, Symington, three miles from Biggar and placed it under the patronage of St. Isidore the Farmer. When this courageous initiative was discontinued in 1937, a priest was appointed to be resident in Biggar itself. The first Mass was celebrated in the present premises on Pentecost Sunday, the 16th of May 1937. The 'church' consists of the original two front rooms of the house which was built in 1880 for Doctor Kello, a prominent figure in the town, our local Kello Hospital being named after him. The church was extended in 1993 to include what had been a conservatory and now seats approximately 100 people.
Explore St Isidores Catholic Church through this virtual tour!Go on a virtual guided tour!