28 September 2019 (10:00-16:00)
29 September 2019 (14:00-17:00)
The ‘Old Haa of Brough’, was built by Robert Tyrie, a local merchant. He completed the 3 storey building in 1672, and it went on to become the home of various merchants and Hanseatic Traders.
The building is unique and was listed on 13 August 1971 as a building of local significance in Shetland, with its defining arches proudly curving towards the main road in front of the museum. It also has a beautiful walled garden with inuksuit statues constructed from Yell stone.
The Old Haa Trust, formed in 1984, acquired the building from the Shetland Amenity Trust, with the proviso that they would “look after the building on behalf of the people of Yell.” With this in mind, extensive repairs took place and the Old Haa was opened as a museum. The Trust later purchased the Smiddy next door, which was incorporated into the museum, and which now houses the Gift Shop and Gallery. The Old Haa is a partner of Shetland Geopark.
During the festival, the museum has several exhibitions on. Learn about the history of Yell, including 'New Connections across the Northern Isles' with artwork by John Cumming. Explore a natural history exhibition, including 'Oot and Aboot' photos by Ryan Nisbet. Dive deeper into the history of fishing and factories in the area. See a beautiful display of wool as part of the museum's Wool Week exhibition.
Photo credits: Robert Odie, Old Haa Trustee
Building Date: 1672
Various exhibitions on during the festival.
Tearoom, shop and beautiful walled garden.
Detailed access info: Building not accessible - steep internal stairs. Garden is fully accessible.