11 September 2021 (10:00-16:30)
The 5th Duke of Buccleuch commissioned architects William Burns and David Bryce to build St Mary's as a private chapel for Dalkeith House and Estate. Designed in the Early English style, it opened in 1845. In 1890 a further side chapel, the Buccleuch Aisle, was added by the 6th Duke with a burial vault for the Buccleuch family beneath it.
The Church has 4 significant features: the magnificent stained glass windows with a triple-light window at the front and a rose window at the back, which were made in France; heraldic Minton Floor Tiles bearing the crests of the various families linked to the Buccleuch's; a superb example of a double hammer-head beam roof and a fan vaulted chancel; the last continuously working water powered organ in the country which was built by the renowned organ builder, William Hamilton of Edinburgh.
For Doors Open Days 2021 we are inviting you in to have a look around this beautiful Church, then maybe explore the extensive grounds of the country park!
No booking required.
Architect: William Burn & David Bryce
Building Date: 1843