1 September 2019 (1200 - 1600)
Standing on the site of the University's oldest college, this impressive wood-paneled room was originally used for classes and examinations. It was renamed ‘Parliament Hall’ after the Scottish Parliament sat here in 1645-1646 during an outbreak of plague in Edinburgh. Visitors can view some of the University’s historic portraits and furniture and chat to our friendly staff! Outside, in St Mary’s Quadrangle, there is a large holm oak tree, which is around 275 years old and another ancient tree: a thorn tree, supposedly planted by Mary Queen of Scots in the sixteenth century.