25 September 2021 (Online)
26 September 2021 (Online)
James Ewing, MP and Lord Provost of Glasgow acquired the feu from the Milton Estate in 1822 and built this handsome marine villa, the design of which is attributed to David Hamilton, a writer of the time who was also responsible for the Royal Exchange in Glasgow. It was named because of the proximity of Dunoon Castle. Other Glasgow merchants followed suit and then began the rise of modern Dunoon.
As well as being a home, Castle House was purchased by the town council in 1893 becoming the Dunoon Town Council chambers until 1975. It has also housed the Dunoon library on the upper floors which became home to the Castle House Museum in 1998.
Castle House Museum provides a glimpse into Dunoon’s past and hosts an extensive and fascinating range of exhibits, spanning from the neolithic age through to the Victorian era and beyond.
Architect: David Hamilton
Building Date: 1824