Back to List

Inglis Memorial Hall Library

Door open days

14 September 2019 (10am-12.30pm & 1-4pm)

15 September 2019 (2 - 4pm)


In 1898, Lieutenant Colonel Robert William Inglis, the son of a local minister, gifted the Inglis Memorial Hall and its library to Edzell. Come and view an original Victorian library, find out how it worked and how it served the people of Edzell. Explore the audio visual presentation featuring the Colonel and his family, the building and opening of the hall and library and places to visit in and around Edzell.

The library’s collection is a fascinating glimpse into a unique survival of a late Victorian library, reflecting what was considered of interest and importance in both fiction and non-fiction. The loan records for the first half of the twentieth century also survived, showing what the public liked to borrow. A digitised catalogue, Cotgreave Indicator, is available for researchers and includes a scanned image of the cover and a sample page.


Key Information

Architect: Charles and Leslie Ower

Building Date: 1898

For more information, email or call 01356 237227.

Where to find us

  • High Street
  • Edzell
  • DD9 7TF