31 August 2019
(10 am to 3 pm)
The Church building is of special interest as it is has Grade A listing. The present building has been used for public worship since 1841. In 1855, the steeple was added to the Church structure. In 1912, Honeyman, Keppie & Rose built a chancel in the form of a semicircular apse, with rich oak furnishings including a pulpit and organ case. At this time, an organ built by Binns of Leeds was installed. The chancel area has three stained glass panels which were designed by Douglas Strachan. The colours are wonderfully vibrant especially the reds, blues and purples.
Over the years, union and re-adjustment has been ongoing. As a result of this, the church building has changed its name several times – ‘The West Kirk’, The Old Kirk’, ‘St. Luke’s’ and now the Westburn Church. Over the past few years, extensive refurbishment has been carried out with an Audio Visual system having recently been installed.