31 August 2019 (11 am to 4 pm)
1 September 2019 (1 pm to 3 pm)
St Mary’s has great historical significance as the ‘Mother Parish’ of the Catholic Church in Inverclyde and beyond. At the back of the church a plaque commemorates deceased parish priests from 1808. The present building, designed by George Goldie of London, opened in 1862, replacing the earlier St Mary’s in East Shaw Street.
The Grade B listed building, refurbished in 2002, has stained glass windows striking for their richness and colour. Recent additions are the stunning ‘Annunciation’ window (2013) by Shona McInnes, and the ‘Walsingham’ window (2016), which echoes the style of the original windows.
Architect: George Goldie, refurbished Quigley Associates
Building Date: 1862, refurbished 2002