The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh was founded in 1505, with the Museum collections growing from 1699 after ‘natural and artificial curiosities’ were publicly sought. In the 1800s, the Museum had expanded to include the remarkable collections of Sir Charles Bell and John Barclay. Initially established as a medical teaching resource, access for all is now a priority and visitors can explore The Pathology Museum, The History of Surgery Museum upper and lower (floors) and the Dental Museum.
From May 2014 – Summer 2015 Surgeons’ Hall Museum will be closed for redevelopment. Join us for a behind the scenes look at how improving access, reinterpretation of objects and the conservation if specimens and stonework can provide a modern and accessible museum through sustainable