St Johns is the only church on Princes Street. It stands at the junction with Lothian Road. Designed by William Burn in the Perpendicular Gothic Style it was built in 1818. Since that time alterations and additions to the building have enhanced its character. In particular it now contains one of the finest collections of stained glass under one roof in Scotland, many of the windows coming from the studio of James Ballantine of Edinburgh. St Johns is also home to a large and vibrant congregation eager to welcome visitors.