Fire Service Headquarters was opened on the 7th June 1900 and was an operational fire station until 1986. It continues to be the administrative and command centre for Lothian and Borders Fire and Rescue Service. It is also the home of the Museum of Fire. Housing the last remaining Halley fire appliance in the world. The Halley which served in Leith is unique and along with other appliances on display, which include James Braidwood?s High Street appliance, forms a progressive display covering the development of the fire engine. The building also houses a mock-up of an Edinburgh close which allows the visitor to experience the conditions during the great fire of Edinburgh.