The architect of Heriot’s Hospital was the royal master mason William Wallace. It is an excellent example of Scots Renaissance architecture. Built from stone quarried at Craigleith and Ravelston, lime from Kirkliston and Westhouses, timber from Dalkeith and Norway, the foundation stone of the northwest tower is inscribed 1628. In 1659 the building began to fulfil the purpose of its founder – for the upbringing and education of ‘puire fatherless bairnes, friemenes sones of that Toune of Edinburgh’. Explore the School Hall with its hammerbeam roof, the Chapel, Council Room and Old Refectory hidden within the Quadrangle. The recently completed Heriot’s Centre for Sport & Exercise, by LDN Architects, comes with excellent environmental credentials: the discovery of a 60m deep well led to the investigation of its potential for use as a ground source heat pump to supply the under floor heating. The Centre was a real ship in a bottle conundrum for the architects and builder.