The kirk was founded in 1688. The unique design is by James Smith, with aisles and a cruciform plan. The fine ashlar façade is in a Dutch architectural style and the luminous, columned baroque interior was restored by Stewart Tod & Partners in 1947. Notable memorials in the kirkyard include the graves of Adam Smith and Robert Fergusson. The Friends of Canongate Kirkyard will provide tours of the kirk and kirkyard, focusing on individuals who had important new Town connections such as Lord Provost Drummond who was responsible for the building of North Bridge.
Architect: James Smith
Building Date: 1691