Built in 1792, the Theatre Royal Dumfries is the oldest theatre in Scotland still in operation today.
It has had a long and storied history and has attracted many famous visitors including Robert Burns and J. M. Barrie and Stan Laurel. The building has also seen use as a music hall, a cinema and very briefly, a roller skating rink.
It was restored by the Guild of Players in 1959 and has been operating as a theatre again ever since. The most recent refurbishment of the building has seen an expansion into other sites on Shakespeare Street and Queen Street. While the auditorium remains largely the same, the building now also boasts a new bar and Studio, as well as much improved backstage facilities.
Architect: Thomas Boyd (1792), Charles J. Phipps (1876), Colin Morton (1959), Gordon Fleming (2013)
Building Date: 1792