Walk 1: The Alloa Wagon Way
Alloa Tower was once at the centre of a large estate owned by the Erskines. The 6th Earl of Mar was exiled after leading the 1715 Jacobite Uprising, his title and estate forfeited to the Government. His family bought the estate back and it was later managed by the 6th Earl's daughter Lady Frances Erskine. Her father had developed a road through Alloa to bring coal from his mines to the harbour, but in 1766 Lady Frances had wooden rails laid along its route to create a new wagon way. Later improvements ensured that the new wagon way made the transport of coal much more efficient and by 1775 Alloa was exporting over one third of Scotland’s total coal production.
This walk will explore the surviving sections of the original wagon way through Alloa. The walk will take no more than 1 hour 45 minutes.
Walk 2: Alloa House and Park
Lady Frances's son John Francis Erskine inherited the Alloa estate in 1776. He improved it including creating a fish pond fed by water taken from the River Black Devon and with an elaborate dam and sluice system. His grandson, the 9th Earl of Mar, built Alloa House in the 1830s and his successor the Earl of Kellie, who inherited the estate in 1866, made many improvements, extended the house considerably, built a walled garden, new lodges and, probably c1870, an ice house near the fish pond.
This walk will explore the surviving evidence for the Alloa House estate, including the walled garden and the fish pond. The walk will take no more than 1 hour 45 minutes.
The walks will start from Alloa Tower. No pre-booking is required.