17 September 2017 (10am - 4pm)
The Mausoleum does not require tours, but a 1 hour tour of some of the rest of the Duff House grounds can be booked via Historic Environment Scotland at Duff House tel. 01261 818181
Built on the site of a Carmelite burial ground this “Gothick” structure houses the remains of the first five Earls (starting 1705) and other Duff family members, with several interesting memorials. Outside is a tomb that used to be in Banff cemetery and falsely used by the 2nd Earl to claim a family connection to Robert the Bruce - with an interesting linked story involving the Carmelite monks from the nearby “Mount Carmel”.
The Mausoleum is in an extremely peaceful and picturesque location above the River Deveron - so much so it has been used for weddings - but also contains several excellent examples of quite early Coade stone, an 18th century artificial stone that can weather extremely well - even here after more than 200 years in what is perhaps the most northerly example.
ALL FACILITIES ARE LOCATED AT DUFF HOUSE.