Search
Search

Places

Falkirk

Erskine Community Halls looking NE.

Falkirk

Erskine Community Halls

16 September 2017

Designed by William Black of Messrs A. & W. Black, architects, Falkirk, the Erskine Church was built in 1905. It is in the Gothic style of architecture of the Perpendicular period, with a square tower at the south-west corner some 90 ft tall. The south gable presents a five light tracery window and twin doors to the street, approached by an imposing broad flight of steps. The church is cruciform in plan, with nave, aisles, chancel and two shallow transepts. There are galleries over the end of the nave and each of the transepts. A creamy sandstone from Eastfield Quarry was used. Internally the bases of the pillars are of freestone but the walls and ceiling have been finished with lathe and plaster. Behind the church and communicating with it is a hall to accommodate 200 people, a smaller hall, vestry, session room, ladies room, waiting room, kitchen and offices. The total cost of the building was put at £9248. The building ceased functioning as a church in 2014 and is used as community halls. It now provides a great venue for functions. Courtesy of The Erskine Community Halls.

The old town hall in Newmarket Street - demolished.

Falkirk

Falkirk Town Centre

new

16-17 September 2017

As part of the Falkirk Townscape Initiative there will be a temporary exhibition and a guided walk to illustrate and explore the lost and living history of the town centre. The THI is a grant-giving scheme funded by Falkirk Council, HLF, Historic Environment Scotland and others, that has seen £5.5 million invested in Falkirk Town Centre between 2013 and 2018. The aim is to help regenerate the area through investing in its unique and rich heritage. Lost Falkirk Exhibition, Howgate Shopping Centre,Falkirk (tbc) Saturday: 10am - 4pm Sunday: Noon - 4pm Explore the lost and hidden histories of Falkirk town centre at this free exhibition. Supported by Falkirk Townscape Heritage Initiative (THI). (Please note this is a special Sunday opening). Falkirk THI Talks Falkirk Trinity Church, High Street Saturday: 10.30am Steeple Restoration in Focus The Steeple restoration works are complete. But what actually happened? Join ZM Architecture the architects on the project and find out more about the work. Saturday: 12.30pm 3D Scanning and the Built Environment New technologies are being used to record the built environment. Join Professor Douglas Pritchard who will explain how these techniques are being used for architecture, design and heritage conservation. Drop in LEGO Event - Let’s Build! Howgate Shopping Centre Saturday & Sunday 11am-3pm Come along to our builder’s yard and get creative with LEGO! Try to create a local shop, building or just have fun with bricks! This is part of the Falkirk Townscape Heritage Initiative (THI). All ages Free Falkirk Town Centre Heritage Walks Saturday: Noon, 2pm & 4pm Sunday: 2pm & 4pm Meet at the Cross at Falkirk Trinity Church Stroll into the past with our Tour Guides and find out more about the rich heritage of Falkirk Town Centre. Supported by Falkirk Townscape Heritage Initiative (THI).

Falkirk

Kinneil House

16 September 2017

Set within a carefully designed park landscape Kinneil House or Palace was built for James Hamilton the second Earl of Arran when he was the Protector and Governor of Scotland from 1542 to 1554 during the minority of Mary, Queen of Scots. It still houses the best 16th and 17th century murals in Scotland. The bed chamber is now known as the Arbour room and the painting is full of foliage, scrolls and animals. This was later painted over in imitation of wainscoting and a coffered ceiling containing the 1621 coat of arms of Arran. The withdrawing chamber has a number of biblical scenes on the walls, notably the Good Samaritan. This year access has been created to extra rooms in the residential wing and to the ground floor of the tower house – meaning there is even more to see! In 1677 Anne Duchess of Hamilton began a programme of renovation, producing the house and grounds as they appear today. By the late 18th century the house was being let. Dr John Roebuck lived here 1764-94 and invited James Watt to perfect his separate condenser here. Dugald Stewart the philosopher was another famous tenant 1809-1828 and has a memorial on Carlton Hill in Edinburgh. The grounds are also the setting for events connected with the Roman Week, which runs from 16 - 24 September. The Antonine Wall runs close to the House and the remains of a Roman fortlet can be seen. There is also a 12th century church. Kinneil Museum, located in the old coachhouse, is open from 12.30-4.00pm.

Larbert Old parish Church looking east fromt he churchyard

Falkirk

Larbert Old Parish Church

16-17 September 2017

prominent landmark and dominates the skyline for miles around. The church opened in 1821 at a cost of £4,400. Its architect, David Hamilton, also designed Falkirk Steeple. The style is Gothic with prominent crocketed finials on the corner buttresses and the west tower. The tower contains the main entrance and opens into a vaulted vestibule from which stairs rise to right and left to the gallery landings. Between the stepped buttresses are tall traceried windows, many of which now contain stained glass. The styles are varied and well worth a visit in their own right. The approach from the main road is between chamfered sandstone gatepiers with crenellated polished ashlar caps and decorative cast-iron gas lamp fittings. On the left is a pink granite marble fountain with a shallow bowl on a turned circular plinth, presented in 1923. On the right is the 1905 hall, designed by P. MacGregor Chalmers. On the Saturday morning there will be an organ recital in the church. Guided tours of the churchyard will take in many fascinating aspects of local as well as national history, and of art. The latter includes some idiosyncratic poetry set in stone, as well as statues by leading sculptors.

Stainton Column

Falkirk

Larbert Old Parish Churchyard

16 September 2017

Adjacent to the parish church is a burial ground whose magnificent monuments neatly encapsulate the advent of the Industrial Revolution in Scotland. They are dominated by those relating to the Carron Ironworks, which was established in 1759. The large edifices to its managers range from an Italianate tomb, to a huge urned column and a Roman temple. Cast iron features strongly throughout the graveyard with elaborate railings and obelisks. The Carron Enclosure contains beautiful examples of public art, including two tombs designed by John Hutchison of Edinburgh, one of the most famous sculptors of the late 19th century. In its own separate enclosure stood the earliest cast iron funerary obelisk anywhere in the world. It commemorates the most famous Scottish explorer of his generation, as recorded on its panels: “James Bruce esq of Kinnaird,/ who died on the 27th of April 1794,/ in the 64th year of his age/ his life was spent performing/ usefull, and splendid actions/ he explored many distant regions./ He discovered the fountains of the Nile.,/ He traversed the deserts of Nubia.” Although the graveyard is open all the year round, guided tours will be conducted on the hour during the Saturday of the opening of the church. Courtesy of the congregation of Larbert Old Church.

Search Filters

Area Coordinator

  • Geoff Bailey
  • Falkirk Community Trust