Rosemary GraceEconomic Development OfficerInverclyde Council75-81 Cathcart StreetGreenockPA15 1DETel: 01475 715555
Your chance to have a look inside more than 40 of Inverclyde’s most interesting and fascinating buildings, both old and new, this September during Inverclyde's Doors Open Days.
All of Inverclyde's programme is listed below or you can download the Inverclyde Doors Open brochure at: www.inverclyde.gov.uk/events
Follow us on Twitter: @Inverclyde and #InverclydeDOD
Visitors will be able to explore the first floor of this extensively refurbished C Listed Victorian town house. #
Within the building there will be 2 exhibitions, '456' from Quigley Architects which contains sketches and historical research of 45 key buildings in Inverclyde and another exhibition by the artist George Wyllie entitled 'Scul?tor and Navigator' looking at the ideas and design of Wyllie's work.
Plot holders will be available to answer questions and give advice. Tea/coffee/cakes available
The Dutch Gable House is an iconic and unusual building in Greenock’s historic William Street town quarter. The rear of the building allows access to the oldest surviving house in the town. The buildings are being redeveloped by Inverclyde Community Development Trust as a space for community, culture and enterprise.
Over the weekend Magic Torch will launch their new children's book "13 Commonwealth Tales", supported by Big Lottery Celebrate funding with free copies exclusively available. On show will be a special exhibition of comic artwork inspired by the Viking poem "Battle of Largs" by local write John Galt. Throughout the weekend there will be short presentations, storytelling and exclusive films. Check our Blog and Facebook page for details/schedule. http://identityinverclyde.blogspot.co.uk/
Visitors to the building will have the opportunity to see where the contents of Inverclyde's blue bins are delivered and how the co-mingled dry recyclable material is sorted prior to being sent for reprocessing.
Tours only, bookable by calling 01475 715905
Lodge Greenock St John’s numbered 175 on the roll of the Grand Lodge of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Scotland was founded on 1st February 1790 and has operated continuously since that date and has now contributed to our community for almost 225 years.
The Lodge building which is constructed of red sandstone from the long since defunct Skelmorlie quarry is one of the few buildings of character which remain in Greenock town centre. It is a testimony to the designers, Messrs Boston, Menzies and Morton, who were the foremost Architects in Greenock in the late 19th Century.
Designed by John Starforth, Architect in 1871 the interior has been altered twice in 1951 and 2002. The latest alterations involved removing the pews and the Sanctuary has become a 21st Century multi functional area. A beautiful stained glass window dominates the Chancel. The building is used for worship and social events. Various youth organisations and community groups use the Sanctuary and halls regularly seven days a week.
Other Lyle Community Kirk buildings can be seen at the Esplanade and Newark Street.
Information books available.
First built in Scotland after the Reformation under Royal Charter signed by James VI. Built by John Schaw in 1591 at the foot of the Westburn. Taken apart and relocated to its present site in 1928 to make way for expansion of Harland and Wolf's shipyard. The Church contains the finest collection of Pr-Raphaelite stained glass in Britain. Tours throughout the day with knowledgeable tour guides.
Tours throughout the day with knowledgeable tour guides.
Welcomes tourists from all cruise liners visiting Greenock and opens for groups by prior arrangement throughout the year.
The Scottish Civic Trust: The Tobacco Merchants House, 42 Miller Street,Glasgow, G1 1DT
Tel: 0141 221 1466, Fax: 0141 248 6952,Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Scottish Civic Trust is a registered Scottish charity. Charity No. SC012569
Website By Radiator